Press Release


ACT’s New Community Action Grants Program Funds Nine Local Projects

For more information, contact:

SJ Morrison
Agency for Community Transit
(618) 797-4600

PONTOON BEACH, IL., Feb. 21, 2022… The Agency for Community Transit (ACT) Board of Directors awarded nearly $400,000 in grant funds to nine local entities as part of its first round of ACT Community Action Grants, established to support transportation related ADA-accessibility projects in Madison County. The newly established ACT Community Action Grants program was launched in January to provide funding for entities seeking to enhance mobility, improve transportation related ADA accessibility, and promote alternative transportation options for Madison County residents.

ACT committed $2 million in funding for the 2022 calendar year, with a maximum of $100,000 per project and per entity. Madison County cities, villages, and townships, 501(c)(3) non-profit organizations, park districts, transit districts and airport districts are all eligible to apply for funds. The first recipients of ACT’s Community Action Grants funds are listed below:

  • Village of Godfrey: $100,000 for phase 1 construction of a shared use path in Godfrey.
  • Village of South Roxana: $36,450 for an ADA accessible UTV for public use.
  • Rebuilding Together Southwest Illinois: $10,000 for the construction of wheelchair ramps at homes of low-income residents in Madison County.
  • Tri-Township Park District: $73,000 for the expansion and resurfacing of a shared use path at the west end of Tri-Township Park.
  • City of Troy: $100,000 to extend the trail from the MCT Silver Creek Trail to C.A. Henning School.
  • YWCA of Southwest Illinois: $15,920 for ADA improvements to facility entrances.
  • Collinsville Faith in Action: $7,900 for an ADA accessibility walkway and entry.
  • City of Wood River: $34,630.08 for the creation of a pedestrian and bicycle master plan.
  • Chestnut Health Systems: $15,000 in MCT fare products to provide clients with access to services.

“This new program offers another way for ACT to come alongside the communities and residents of Madison County to improve transportation access and enhance the quality of life,” said ACT Board President Mark Achenbach.

The ACT Board is comprised of five Madison County residents: Mark Achenbach (President), Ron Jedda (Vice-President), Chrissy Wiley, Patrick McRae, and Lisa Ciampoli.

Public bodies and organizations that are interested in applying or learning more, can find the ACT Community Actions Grants Program application at and can contact ACT Grants Coordinator, Miriam Bell at or 618-797-4600 ext 2251.

Agency for Community Transit, Inc. is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization incorporated in the State of Illinois. In addition to the Community Action Grants, ACT operates all services for Madison County Transit (MCT), including the fixed-route bus system, the Runabout paratransit service, the regional rideshare program known as RideFinders, and the ongoing maintenance and expansion of the MCT Trails bikeway system.